Attacking Phase Three: Recovery

I ended eight days in the hospital Friday afternoon with good numbers, measured caution, and a bright outlook going forward.

That’s a pretty big mouthful of happy thoughts but its the way I feel this Saturday morning.

The good news is despite my very serious blood infection, the stem cell transplant has done exactly what it’s supposed to do so far. After the awful week of chemo, my cells were returned and within days my white count dropped to less than 20. Again, keep in mind normal is 4000-11000.

I was weak, couldn’t eat, the dreaded diarrhea set in for the long haul but the numbers stayed on track. On Day 10 after my cells were returned (Thursday), jumped to 2000. Yesterday (Friday) my cells not only passed the 4000 count but my platelets were holding at a good level.

So my doctor discharged me with oral antibiotics to continue my recovery. I’m still in Indy with my greatest-ever friend Kathy. I was ordered to take it easy this weekend. I’ll go into the clinic Monday to check all my blood counts. My charge this weekend is to drink huge amounts of water and eat. I had little appetite for better part of two weeks but its slowly coming back. I should add I’m still at a very dangerous stage at risk for infection. But I understand the rules.

I got a pretty good night’s sleep last night in a real bed instead of the hospital version.

I’ve said to many friends my biggest mistake in 2015, my first round of cancer, is that I worked my way out of it but not nearly hard enough.

If all goes well I could be home within another week or so. Obviously that’s a big goal. I would have roughly a month before I’m scheduled to return to work with my friends at Purdue University.

I’ll save the post about how this sort of procedure alters your outlook on life – because I think it does somewhat – for another day.

In the meantime, it sure feels good to leave the hospital.

About Howard

After most of my career in the newspaper business I joined higher education, working in Public Affairs. I write mostly about value wine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

