Partying today like it’s 1999

So after posting that morbid selfie yesterday it’s all celebration today!

The stem cell transplant process is all about the numbers during recovery and I  hit a real good one this morning. My whites were in the 600s yesterday, which was good. Today is Day 10 from the re-plant of cells and usually the start of significant white cell production.

Well my boys have grafted and they’ve been busy. And, you should have guessed the number by now – 1999.

That gets me halfway to the usual minimum of 4000. I have another 1000 cell day tomorrow (Friday), there is pretty good chance I get released back to outpatient status Friday or Saturday.

I’ve now been hospitalized a week. I’m feeling okay but after a nice fresh shower this morning I took a good 20-minute spin through the unit and realized I had some hip and leg pain – or core strength loss from lying in a bed so much. Getting out should help that activity some as well.

It definitely feels on the upswing. Doc’s biggest concern is getting me transferred from drip bags to oral antibiotics. That’s sort of the final hurdle for release, along with the counts.

 

About Howard

After most of my career in the newspaper business I joined higher education, working in Public Affairs. I write mostly about value wine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Partying today like it’s 1999

  1. Scott says:

    God bless you mate. Keep on, keeping on. I’m only a week away from starting the 6 days of chemo having already had my stem cells collected. I can only hope I have your strength. Reading of yours has helped – thanks. London – UK.

    Like

Leave a Reply

