Chemo Over But No Air in the Balloon

Well, here I am again stuck in one of those strange paradoxes I’ve written about previously. The gist of it: well wishes vs. reality.

But everyone – including me – was excited about the sixth and final Chemo this past Monday.

The sticking point, of course, is that it was my sixth treatment. Chemo is culmulative. I also went from an every-three-week regiment to every two weeks for the last treatments. So I’m pretty toxic. As I write this on Saturday morning, I continue to have low level toxicity – which spikes a time or two a day – daily.

But the big impact seemed to hit this morning. I’ve written, written, and written about fatigue since the first treatment. Each Saturday morning I walk downtown to our local Farmer’s Market. I like the walk, seeing folks, and buying fresh vegetables.

I’m guessing the walk is between a quarter and half mile. This morning I wasn’t sure I was going to make it back. I was hit by new wall of fatigue that feels overwhelming this morning. I’m not sure what to make of it – or if it will last all day or longer. I slept well last night. It’s a tad disconcerting to think that I’m going to have a few days of this to deal with now

But the temperature and humidity are climbing. That is very limiting. When humidity is up, going outside is very challenging with a low hemoglobin count producing breathlessness.

So yea, I’m tired. But as my friends remind me – yea, it’s wonderful knowing I don’t have to go through chemo again.

About Howard

After most of my career in the newspaper business I joined higher education, working in Public Affairs. I write mostly about value wine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

