Working On The Roller Coaster Analogy

roller coaster

I’ve written for several weeks about the roller-coaster effect of chemotherapy. It seems like I feel just awful one day, great the next, and then that’s followed up a succession of up and down days.

I had my third of six Chemo treatments a week ago today – June 8 – and next Monday will have my fourth, moving to a two-week rotation.

So here is the past seven days of my thrill ride on Chemo.

red arrow down45Monday, June 8 – Felt effects during first chemo drug – that hadn’t happened before. Typical yuck that night.

arrowup45Tuesday – June 9  – Had the typical day-after chemo yuck and low grade headache but wasn’t all that bad a day.

red arrow down45Wednesday, June 10 – Worst day since the beginning of treatment. Yuck mouth, tight stomach, low grade headache, overwhelming feeling of toxicity. Didn’t really get out of my chair.

arrowup45Thursday, June 11 – The best day of the last six weeks. Explain that? Please. I had virtually no ‘hangover effect’ of chemo whatsoever. I went out to lunch with a friend.

red arrow down45Friday, June 12 – Didn’t feel awful but the low-grade symptoms were back with a day-long headache.

red arrow down45Saturday, June 13 – Felt great in the morning. I walked to close-by Farmers Market, ran to grocery, got home and collapsed for rest of day.

red arrow down45Sunday, June 14 – No too bad in the morning. Made a half-hour drive to take my elderly mother to Sunday lunch. Got home, collapsed and slept a good part of the morning.

red arrow down45Monday, June 15 – Today! – Don’t have a lot of motivation and I hate that. Tired of being tired. Need to get up and do a few things. Low grade yuck with me this morning.

I wrote last week about culmulative effect and I do believe that is a lot of what seems to be working against me. It just makes sense. It does present an interesting paradox. I am to have my fourth Chemo a week from today on a two-week turn-around for the first time. I dread how it might make me feel but willing to tackle it for the sake of getting this drudgery over with and to learn I’m in remission.

That’s my plan and I’m sticking to it.

About Howard

After most of my career in the newspaper business I joined higher education, working in Public Affairs. I write mostly about value wine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

