Affirmation For a Daily Routine

There are times in life we all re-learn a lesson we’ve learned many times before.

daily routine 2I had a pretty rough weekend after my second chemotherapy, May 21. It got so bad Monday that I just got out of bed, put on same clothes as day before and spent 99.9 percent of the day in my Lazyboy chair. Ugh.

During that good wallow, it dawned on me that I had learned this lesson in the first round of Chemo. Duh! So starting Tuesday morning I got up each day and had my cup of coffee and hour of laziness. I sat on the porch and enjoyrf the birds singing. watched neighbors go by and did nothing. But then I would hop in the shower, dress in fresh clothes, and go do something.

Now with the energy level of a Chemo patient, the ‘go do something’ part might be a short walk, a run to the grocery, a visit to my workplace where I’ve taken short term disability leave.

But I’ve learned, and learned again, that 2-4 hours of activity seems to really improve my quality of life while living with a nuclear waste bonanza surging through my veins.

daily routine1Though I had a bad first three days after treatment, again my oncologist was right. I felt pretty yucky for more than a week after my first treatment but Doc Butler suggested some of that was do to all the other medications he had prescribed before Chemo started. We stopped those and now I have a pretty clear-headed approach to the day after getting past the first few days of serious yuck.

Get up. Take a shower. Get your day started.

What was that famous saying? Everything you need to know your Mommy taught you?

Thanks Mom. That advice still holds true.

About Howard

After most of my career in the newspaper business I joined higher education, working in Public Affairs. I write mostly about value wine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

