So Let Chemo, Round Two, Begin

Okay, this is probably too corny but I have six hours to kill as I relax in my nifty Lazyboy chair for my second round of Chemo.

Who knows, maybe writing through this will help someone – and/or answer a few questions for the curious.

8:50 a.m. – I am currently receiving a Benadryl drip via my Power Port (or my nozzle, as I like to call it.) The Benedril is administerd as a counteractive drug to the Rituxan. Of course, Benadryl makes you really fuzzy, punch drunk or woozy. It doesn’t quite knock you out which would actually be easier.

Nurse Lori  giving  me one of three injections of the  red death"- doxorubicin.

“The red death”- doxorubicin.

After the Benadryl starts to get me, a steroid named Decadron comes next. The drug fights inflammation.

After the woozy is set in, the first Chemo drug is administered. I  didn’t know, and certainly many others asked, that Chemo is administered one drug at a time. This is powerful medicine and they’re very cautious.

So, I’m woozy. I’ll try to make a few comments as my day progresses. It takes six hours and lots of time. The Benadryl is starting the drunkenness. As I recall from the first treatment it lasts about an hour to an hour and a half.

1:00 p.m. – I’m pretty much out of the morning fog from the Benadryl and the first Chemo drug, Rituxan. The Rituxan, at least to my understanding, is the most powerful of the four drugs. The other three drugs dissipate in your body over a vew days. The Rituxan sticks around at up to 50 percent at three weeks past a treatment. So it’s going to have a building culmulative effect over time.

So now wide awake and I’m have two different anti-nausea medications drip into my “nozzle.” I’ve eaten two small bags of salty snacks. They keep a nice variety on hand – I had some Chex Mix and Planters peanuts mixed with dried fruit and M&Ms.

The drug that cancer patients call ‘the red death’ coming up in a few. The drug is No. 3 in my cocktail – Doxorubicin. I’m going to try to sneak a pic of two for this post. The ‘red death’ is also a doozy- they all are! But while the Doxorubicin is being injected I munch on something cold. I used ice cubes last time and brought wonderful frozen fruit bars for this time. The cold in the mouth apparently helps prevent mouth dryness and cold sores.

So yea, pretty powerful stuff.

1:50 p.m. – I’m on my final drug of treatment No. 2 – Vincristine.

So after getting through the first round really well, I’m now a tad anxious to see how I handle this one. I’ll probably blog daily over the next 2-3 days.

About Howard

After most of my career in the newspaper business I joined higher education, working in Public Affairs. I write mostly about value wine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

