Never Knew 20 Minutes of Gardening Could Be Exhausting

The last couple of days have been interesting.

I felt pretty good Friday. I felt really good Saturday until nightfall. Then Sunday I felt like crap – really exhausted. Hmmm … There’s just no figuring this damn Chemo thing out.

GardenBut the topic, if there ever is one on this blog, is fatigue. I was tired when I got going this morning, even after a better night’s sleep than I had enjoyed in weeks.

So this afternoon I thought I’d see if I could get a few plants in my herb/veggie garden. I got about half the plants in the ground and was huffing and puffing like a fat old man. (Nope, don’t do it – I have cancer – you’re required to be nice!)

So I cleaned up the small mess and figured I’d wait another day to finish up. I’ve always grown a few herbs and figured this would be something fun for the summer as I go through my next five treatments. If I get the darn thing fully planted by Thursday – Treatment No. 2 – then it’s just a little weeding and nurturing.

I like to see things grow and always have had that interest. I haven’t always been able to plant things but have grown a few herbs the past several years.

I have basil, dill, rosemary, sage, cherry tomatoes, Roma tomatoes, sweet onions and three different color of sweet peppers to go in the ground. I’m being adventurous but why not.

About Howard

After most of my career in the newspaper business I joined higher education, working in Public Affairs. I write mostly about value wine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

