Losing My Hair – Sing Along With Me!

She asks me why
I’m just a hairy guy
I’m hairy noon and night
Hair that’s a fright
I’m hairy high and low
Don’t ask me why
Don’t know
It’s not for lack of bread
Like the Grateful Dead
Darling

Gimme head with hair
Long beautiful hair
Shining, gleaming,
Streaming, flaxen, waxen

Give me down to there hair
Shoulder length or longer
Here baby, there mama
Everywhere daddy daddy

Hair, hair, hair, hair, hair, hair, hair
Flow it, show it
Long as God can grow it
My hair
Broadway, 1967

Finger1Hey, I’m a child of the 60’s. So I started losing hair earlier this week, right on schedule from my first Chemotherapy treatment May 7. I had noticed for a couple days I could pinch my hair between two fingers and come away with varying amounts of hair.

But this morning (Sat.) I suffered the Christmas tree effect. You know how your live Christmas tree starts to look about five days after Christmas? Right, there are pine needles everywhere.

Well the Christmas tree effect for a cancer patient means hair all over my pillow. I had been looking each day and nothing … barely a strand. But this morning my pillow looked like the Saturday morning floor of a one-chair barbershop in the 1950s when all the boys had buzz cuts.

Just a small section of my pillow this morning. The area was a good 10-12 inches square. Lots of hair, hair, hair, hair, hair.

Just a small section of my pillow this morning. The area was a good 10-12 inches square. Lots of hair, hair, hair, hair, hair.

About Howard

After most of my career in the newspaper business I joined higher education, working in Public Affairs. I write mostly about value wine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

