Well, Not a Bomb – Maybe a Firecracker

The covered bridge and mill in Bridgeton, Parke County, on a beautiful Saturday afternoon.

The covered bridge and mill in Bridgeton, Parke County, on a beautiful Saturday afternoon.

I’m into to third full day past first chemo treatment and Saturday/Sunday has been bit of a roller coaster.

Saturday morning I felt great. I took the attitude, as I posted on Facebook and elsewhere, that I wasn’t going to sit around and wait to get sick. I felt perfectly normal. So my good friend Kathy, here to get me through the first few days, and I headed out for the morning. We visited local farmer’s market, then traveled down to Parke County. We hit Zook’s Greenhouse near Turkey Run then Bridgeton to see the covered bridge and mill.

Kathy and I found some pretty things to fill up the hatchback.

Kathy and I found some pretty things to fill up the hatchback.

After an afternoon light lunch on the porch, my friend headed home and I crashed. As evening wore on, I realized I was exhausted. So I guess my post-Chemo lesson is even though I didn’t get really sick – the fatigue sets in immediately.

That brings us to this morning when, frankly, I feel like crap. I’m achy (immunity shot), the yuck in the mouth is back (chemo), and have that toxic feeling I had Thursday evening after the day’s first treatment. A tad bit of nausea, felt like I might have had a temperature but have checked several times and none. I have nausea medication if it gets any worse – of course, it comes with its own side effects.

So bottom line is this morning (about noon as I write) has been the worst. But still not the violent reaction many forecasted and many other cancer patients have. I guess if I have to deal with “yuck” – the alternative could be much worse.

Why the pretty photos on cancer blog, you might ask? Yesterday was incredibly good medicine – best I felt in three weeks! That’s why. And they’re pretty, aren’t they?

About Howard

After most of my career in the newspaper business I joined higher education, working in Public Affairs. I write mostly about value wine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

